Once a Victim, Now a Survivor [Award]

Posted: May 19, 2015 in Anxiety, awards, Depression, Domestic Violence, mental abuse, PTSD, suicide, Trauma
Tags: , , , , , ,

once-a-victim-now-a-survivor-award

Once a Victim ~ Now a Survivor Award

I  would like to thank Surviving the Specter  who nominated my blog for this award. This award is for those who have gone through mental illness of any kind, abuse, trauma, and especially PTSD. Here are the rules:

  1. Thank the blogger that nominated you
  2. Nominate 7 or more bloggers whom you feel deserve the award
  3. Post 5 questions for your nominees to answer (you may use the same as these below)
  4. Inform your nominees and post a comment in their blog to let them know they’ve been nominated

The questions for me were the following:

When did you start your blog and what inspired you? 

I started blogging a few months ago after I was introduced to it and given the great suggestion to do so. Blogging is a safe place for me. My inspiration was the incredible community connection for Mental Illness. I am a Domestic Violence, trauma, and Suicide survivor and have been greatly impacted by the enormous amount of support we all share on here.

What types of blogs do you follow?

I follow mostly blogs that have to do with trauma, PTSD, depression, suicide survivors, Domestic Violence, Anxiety etc. A few blogs have come across my reader or suggestions that are totally unrelated to mental illness that I enjoy reading.

How many revisions does it take before you push the publish button?

Ha! Probably atleast 5.

What’s the best thing about you and what have you learned from blogging? 

Right now probably isn’t the best time for me to be answering this question but I’ll try anyway. I am an extremely open minded & nonjudgemental woman. I have been told I am a rare breed & how important it is to be so unique. I have learned there are so many other surivivors of suicide and people just like me living with mental illness. I really don’t consider it an “illness” because generally speaking we are all much more intelligent and have so much more to offer than the world gives us the chance for.

Do you have other blogs?

Yes. I started a blog on Tumbler about 2 months prior to WordPress and one on Google. I don’t keep up on either of them regularly.

Here are the inspiring bloggers that I nominate:

Surviving the Specter

The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel

Rose with Thorns

Gentle Kindness

And here are their questions:

  1. When did you start your blog and what inspired you? 
  2. What types of blogs do you follow?
  3. How many revisions does it take before you push the publish button?
  4. What’s the best thing about you and what have you learned from blogging? 
  5. Do you have other blogs?
Comments
  1. DoesItEvenMatterWhoIAm? says:

    Keep pushing through love. I know you would never suspect it, but I too am a survivor.

    PTSD, MDD, GAD… I was raised in a cult where I was abused in every manner imaginable. I escaped when I was 18. I am 36 now and I am finally mostly okay. My past tries to catch up with me sometimes, which is why I only blog about humorous things. But I thought you ought to know, I really do know your pain. I tried to kill myself when I was 16. I used to cut myself all the time. I was a child slave. I lost my virginity to rape. I know the hurt; never let it win though. Xoxoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mistakenldy says:

    You are a true warrior! Through all the pain and suffering you made it and are the amazing versatile individual you were meant to be. My soul grieves for the horrid experiences you endured. Hold your head up with a smile on your face because you deserve to 🙂
    Thank you for your touching words as well as taking the time out to read & reach out. You have genuinely brought smiles & laughter upon my face at the most unexpected, greatly needed moments recently. X’s back at ya

    Like

  3. […] you to Transparent Honesty – One Strong Soul for nominating me […]

    Liked by 1 person

  4. secretangel says:

    Wow… I am late. So sorry. It appears that I missed this nomination. Please forgive me. I really appreciate your support. I remain an “award free” blog but your encouraging words are a blessing to me and our ministry. Many, many blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mistakenldy says:

      It is absolutely alright I believe I read you were award free after the fact but didnt change the fact you are due the recognition. Thank you my friend for always offering uplifting & kind words. Many prayers & blessings back to you dear. X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

